Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

One Arm Pull Up Mechanics Vs Oa Chin Up

jinn

Hey guys,

I tried some one arm (OA) top position chin ups (CU) holds - I think Coach suggested them for increasing strength in weighted CU.

Then I tried some pronated OA pull up (PU) top position holds - didn't quite work out, but I noticed something I want to ask you now:

OACU is basically like a narrrow grip two armed CU.

But OAPU is not like a narrow grip two arm PU, but more like a neutral/parallel grip PU with a little twisting so as to look like a pronated PU ?

Because that is what I felt.

Thanks a lot

Connor Davies

I'm actually interested to know how similar they are bio-mechanically.  I've seen several OAC without any twisting but I've never seen a one arm pullup done with perfect form.  Why is this?

Now I'm not an expert, but regarding the OAP and not perfect form I think it's a lot harder to make clean than OAC due the mechanics of the scapula.. But cant tell if its impossible or not hmm.

I've got a friend who's doing them both. However he says he needs to prioritize which one since he claims that he only can do one of the variations a time. Like if is in a period doing OAC he cannot perform a OAP and vice versa. I find a bit strange but what do I know :)

Would you consider Cisco's OAPs as executed with clean form?: 

How about these at 1:14: 

I would say the OAC and OAP are both similar to a narrow grip pull-up/chin-up and don't think there is a difference with mechanics of the scapula between the two. Also, I feel that you don't really twist much or at all in the OAP and maybe only a miniscule amount of twisting toward the pulling arm near the top and I feel that you're far more likely to twist in a OAC than OAP.