Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

Greetings from Newcastle-upon-Tyne!

Chris Edgar

Chris Edgar

Hello there Gymnastic Bodies community!

My name is Chris Edgar and I am a 21 year old student studying mechanical engineering in Newcastle.

I have been an avid reader of these forums for the past 6 months and like everyone else here, I cannot believe the wealth of information being posted here by such knowledgeable and friendly bunch of people. I think it is high time I introduced myself and became an active member of the forum!

So anyway a bit about myself...

I'm around 6' 3" and approximately 190-195lbs.

I have been into resistance training for around 5 years and have always been active in various sports. (they seem to be getting increasing 'extreme' over the years and my current passions are rock climbing and wakeboarding, along with playing on my slackline)

About 2 years ago I developed an infatuation with calisthenics, mostly stemming from watching parkour/gymnastics videos on youtube. I started messing around with handstands and other random levers and holds (admittedly not with the best form) and quickly discovered; as many others before me have when starting body-weight training; that I was not nearly as strong as I thought I was.

In fact I would go so far to say that all of the muscle i built weight lifting was practically useless as far as functionality goes and if anything it had just made me heavier.

From that point on my training took a massive paradigm shift and bodyweight conditioning quickly became the sole focus of my training sessions. I discovered that progressing into more complex movements and static positions if infinitely more rewarding than adding a few kilos to a bar each month... and I was hooked!