Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

Balancing Schedule w/other sports & PT

Melina Park

Hi everyone!

I am new to GB, but excited about its program. In this post, I am looking for suggestions on how to schedule my week of GB with my other sports.

My background:

I used to cross country ski competitively and after I finished, I sustained an overuse, running injury to my right psoas. Never got imaging, did physical therapy for two years and now about three years later I still have notable inbalances and am not running yet. My brother turned me on to GB, and the stretching is the only thing that I have felt helps balance. And I am excited to do the program!

I’ve seen in the form to balance sides adding reps on one side and stretches on the other tight side.

However, I am a very active person and was wondering if someone could suggest a weekly schedule that would merge well with;

mountain biking 2-3 times a week

body weight strength (mostly PT still working on) 2x wk

And cross country skiing 1-2x wk

And sometimes I do long distance days on the weekend 3hrs+

When do you suggest stretching? Combining strength ie core/upper body/legs into one or two strength sessions a week?

any suggestions help! Thanks!

Étienne Lajeunesse

Hi Melina!

GB will certainly help you to improve your imbalances!

By bodyweight training, does it include GB?  Do you do more than one workout a day? 

Can you post an overall weekly schedule?

As for the stretch series, you can do them either in off days or at the end of your workouts.  Do them once a week each and make yourself some daily limbering to keep working on your biggest issues. :)

Jennifer Marie

Hi Melina, 

You keep busy! 

I have two general suggestions. First, listen to your body. If you're tired, or cranky, or just too sore, be willing to change up the schedule a bit. For me, I get moody and snarky if I've been training too much, or not balancing the different trainings well.