Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

Total Beginner any and all help/advice welcome

Brendan Lynch

Brendan Lynch

Hello GB community,

I am brand new here and have always been interested in strength training.  After reading many of the forum posts about F1, H1, and BtGB and hearing about the results that accompany the training/workouts, I decided I am definitely going to begin here.  I have decent strength and a weight lifting background.  That being said, I have no experience at all with gymnastics or any of the movements involved (I'm sure no flexibility either) and was wondering which of the three guides (F1, H1, or BtGB) I should begin with.  Also, what equipment is essential to progressing in the program?

Any advice on the matter is welcome and greatly appreciated as well as any other general tips.

Thanks!

Connor Davies

Definitely Foundation 1.  Handstand 1 is more of a skill training guide, although it is designed to be trained concurrently with the foundation program.  BtGB is fascinating, but was always criticized for confusing new trainees, which is why it has been replaced with the foundation program.

As for equipment, I'm not sure off the top of my head, there's a thread somewhere around here, but I've heard people say you can get by with mostly a pair of rings hanging from a doorframe chinup bar.

I'll see if I can find the list for you. :)

Edit: Here we are.

Stall bars

Rings

A bench

PB for dips

Pullup bar

Barbells for mobility (10-20lbs)

A low bar for the early PU progression

Not needed:

A rope

Apparently everything is substitutable except for the weights...  I think you're going to have to buy the program and have a look to see what you really need... 

Mike Taylor

"Definitely Foundation 1. Handstand 1 is more of a kill training guide"

^^. What he said, except that H1 won't turn you into a ninja assassin

moderator edit: Post corrected to read 'skill training'  :ph34r:

• Upvote 2