Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

Lower Back Pain

Michael Morello

Michael Morello

Hey everyone,

I have been doing gymnastics with you guys for about 4 months. 

I have a problem with my shoulders as it is right now and I don't know or understand why because some of my friends do handstands also and they do not have this type of pain.

so I am asking when i do handstands like cast wall walks, handstands i get lower back pain or soreness.

so is my form wrong on handstands?

please help. 

Hard to say. Are you arching your lower back a lot.?

This is where core strength comes in to play. Hollow and Arch hold. Leg lifts in either.

Like Blairbob says, it sounds like you are arching your back in the Cast wall walks. When doing the Cast wall walks try to flex your abs and then suck them in, now only walk out as fahr as you can whithout loosing form.

Michael Morello

and how can you tell if you have a weak core?

my FL is 25 seconds tuck.  

my BL is straddle 15 seconds. 

is front lever more taxing on your core which is why my front lever is only tuck and yes my hips drop and i extend to untucked front lever.

FL is generally harder than BL because it is a more disadvantaged position so maybe that is why BL is easier for you, but the limiting reason may not be your core for either of them since it's almost always shoulder girdle strength that is the limiting factor. The FL works mostly the abs for the core and the BL works mostly the lower back for the core, so they work the core differently from each other.

Test your ab strength by doing L-sits and body levers and test your lower back by doing back hyperextension exercises.

Jacob Primeaux