Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

What's The Best Starter Equipment?

Jeremy

Hi all,

I'm new to GB and just getting started. I'm ordering extreme rings and have a workout designed from the book.

My guess is that I'll need only a mini-parralel bar set, at least a few inches of the ground and long. I can't afford real parralel bars and am not too handy. Can anyone suggest a solution?

Jeremy

Adam Bodestyne

PVC pipe parallettes work great and are pretty simple to do, even if you do feel like you're "not too handy." Only really requires cutting the pipes to length, and then jamming them all together. You might not even need to cut them if you can get the place you purchase them from to cut them to the appropriate lengths for you.

ADRIANO FLORES CANO

Two videos that helped me a lot:

Remember, not too long and not to hight; it's the key to work better, safer and in a resistant way.

And no worries about "not too handly", I think than most of us are not but because of our enthusiasm for this type of training (and above all, save money) we get into whatever is necessary... even DIY stuff!! To see oneself with a hack saw, PVC pipes and so on, building a set of parallettes without ever touch anything about woodwork/carpentry... it's priceless!

Joshua Naterman

Definitely pay attention to two things:

1) The legs should be capped. That will make the paralletes much more stable.

2) You don't need to cement the vertical pieces, but the horizontal pieces should all be cemented together. The legs should be cemented to the T fitting, and the hand grip should be cemented to the 90 degree elbows. The vertical piece that connects the hand grip to the feet may be left uncemented, as gravity is more than enough. This allows for easy packing and storage if you travel or have a small place.