Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

Quads cramp during L-sit

Fiona Silk

Hi everyone,

I'm very much an amateur compared to most of you guys, but I thought this would be the best place to most my question since there seem to be so many experienced gymnasts here.

I've been training calisthenics for about 9 months. I can hold a 30s L-sit on good days, but about 3/4 of the time I initially get cramp in one of my quads which causes me to stop. Sometimes even a few attempts doesn't get rid of it, other times it goes, but it is usually the limiting factor in being able to hold them for longer. I always warm-up before training, and usually do the L-sits later ni my session anyway. I've tried both dynamic and static stretches on my quads before trying them, which doesn't seem to make much difference. It happens when I try and fully lock-out (push my leg right out). I also do myofascial work most days, but that doesn't seem to have made much difference either.

I'm not sure if it's a flexibility issue or a strength issue, and I was hoping you might have some advice on how to move forward and condition myself to be able to hold for longer but also just hold them more consistently.

Thank you very much in advance for any advice you might have.

Karri Kytömaa

I have the same issue, especially the closer I go to V-sit.

I think it's just lack of strength really. You are doing low leverage raise with legs to unusual direction and holding it for a long time. It's not really a surprise it gives cramping if not specifically trained for. (Or have been doing active splits or kicks for a while)

Some ways to work on it:

Pistol squats, try to lift you passive leg as high as you can. This can be a killer and seems to give best results.

Simply slow kicks as high as you can go, I seem to get flexibility problems here though.

Obviously working more on those L-sits.