Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

Iron Cross technique and progress

Hi!

I'm new to this forum and I don't know a better place to put this question, but in a new thread.

I have been working the cross for about 2 months now and I've gained serious amount of strength already, even though I'm not able to hold a cross yet. I was wondering, (I'm not a gymnast and I have no prior experience with gymnastics, but it is something I take alot of interest in) if any of you more experienced guys could take a look at my "tries" and maybe comment on technique and give some type of critics, so I can get better at it. And would you please tell me if I'm close, and about how close I am?

Go crazy with your critics!

Chris

(link to video)

(it's a bad video and it's a little bit hard to see, but it's the best I got!)

pbYNV0lCogI

Based on what you have given us as your background and your video, it looks like you are jumping into IC training pre-maturely and setting your self up for a serious injury.

Please take a look at this thread viewtopic.php?f=14&t=9023

and let us know if you've gone through the steps as laid out.

Looks alright.

Give yourself 3-6 months.

It is extremely hard to guage when someone will get a skill. It's like online dating.

Your negative is almost slow enough it's passable. I would work it to the point that at some point you try to insert a hold for 3-5 seconds.

Of course, work all the basic cross prerequisites. Front and Back Lever, planche work and ring HS work.

I would recommend lots of straight arm ring flies and block crosses with straight legs/piked.

Thank you for your replies Cole and Bob!