Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

Weightlifting/skill training combo

R0LY24

Hey guys,

My name is Ian, I'm a 200lb, 24 year old rugby player from the UK, who has little to no gymnastics experience what so ever (except my level 6 KitKat badge from when I was 7!). I can't remember how I stumbled onto this website but I sure am glad I did as it has a great collection of advice and tutorials which are accessible to complete novices.

I bought the gymnasticsbodies ebook yesterday and from looking at all the progressions I think its safe to say that I am level 1 for nearly all the exercises! I go to the gym regularly, doing barbell lifts and occasionally plyometrics and am relatively strong, at least in comparison to the average Joe. I don't do body-building routines, only full body strength (reps of 5x5) stuff.

What I have come to release though is that I am extremely lacking in mobility and static hold strength, i.e. I cannot sit in an L-shape (not even L-sit) without my back rounding severely, and the range of motion in my shoulder girdle is so small that I cannot do wall extension with my back and hips pressed into the wall as well as my forearms.

Like I said earlier, I do go to the gym regularly and I don't think that I will be able to drop the iron completely and switch to purely bodyweight stuff straight away, so I was wondering what your recommendations would be for combining the two? The exercises which I would like to work on first are the L-sit, Back lever, front lever, handstand and core progressions. Do you think I can slot this in seamlessly to my current routine? maybe as the "core" component? How often should I be training each skill to get the most benefit but not be over training?