Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

FL and BL.

Tavis G

Can the Front lever and Back lever be trained in the same day? And do they hit the connective tissue hard? Because I started training the OAC and if they are both hard on the connective tissue, i will drop them till i get an OAC.

Daniel Burnham
Youre supposed to train ALL of your FSP before EVERY workout.

Not true. It may be useful to go through them all as non taxing skill work each workout, but I wouldn't do it every workout depending on your schedule and workload. I have a hard time working back lever and planche in the same day so I have a fsp split. I have made much better progress by spearing and allowingore recovery time.

To the OP this is something you will have to decide. The only problems I could see would be the front lever taxing your lats too much. But I suspect your activation may not be enough at this plot to have a problem. The other issue is overworking the elbow. OAC work has a tendency to bring on some elbow pain if you are not properly conditioned. Back lever and planche work are good for building the requisite elbow preparation. I might even hold off on OAC until the elbows feel strong. If you decide not to hold off I just wouldn't do planche, back lever and OAC in the same day. At least not in high volumes. I suppose if you only wanted the OAC you could just do elbow prehab and get it without moving through any of the the FSP.

EDIT: I would also like to add that I had a similar goal of getting a OAC but have recently held off in order to prepare myself more for it. I am very close and can do 4-5 second negatives and several supported by my little finger in a row. But working it at very much volume gave be elbow pain. I've noticed similar experiences with other people and think that better prep will help me more in the long run.