Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

General Question About Injuries

Daniel Bassett

Daniel Bassett

Hello,

Being that I'm a newb, I have been scouring these forums for several months absorbing as much as I can. I've gone through 1 SSC of 12 weeks so far using the prereq and what have you. Making slow but sure progress. But of course as I progress the thing I fear most is injuries. It seems like many people eventually develop injuries, even the experienced fitness enthusiasts. My question is, what tends to be the circumstances surrounding these injuries? Too much, too soon? Please chime in and give me some context to work with. Those of you with or have suffered injuries, did you adhere to a 8-12 week SSC? I found the SSC in the book to be one of the simplest, yet most valuable pieces of advice I've ever had the pleasure to learn. But if people are adhering to it and still getting injured, 怎么办?Thanks! I appreciate your input!

Daniel

Joshua Naterman

During my time here, 100% of these cases have been people jumping ahead in progressions too quickly.

There have actually been several here who have NOT done that, and all are doing very well with no injuries that I know of. Most started out with too much too fast, and these are the ones that started doing things more "by the book" and it is working well for them.

The 2nd edition will have a more structured approach to this.

Rik de Kort

It's too much too soon and pushing through pain, usually. You absolutely have to back off when your connective tissues, joints etc. start to feel sore, take an easy week or two.

Or you could run SSCs, stick to the progressions and prereqs, and not have to worry much.

Andrew Lim

I have just injured my elbow. It is either from muscle ups (I just started being able to do these) or really bad form on forward roll (rings) or something else.

After my last rings WOD I seem to have developed tennis elbow.

So, if I could turn back time: