Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

Problem with Ring Dips

Patrick Keogh

Patrick Keogh

I am just starting out doing ring dips, but I find they put too much pressure on the outside part of my elbows as I am lowering down. I start with the rings turned out at the top, turn them in a little as I try to lower, but before I get too far down I feel a lot of pressure/strain on the outsides of my elbows.

I'm thinking this is a technical problem I am having with the rings as I can do parallel bar dips no problem. I do them weighted and come right down so my shoulders touch my hands. Also, I can do dips without this problem using straps. The straps are basically like the straps for the rings, but instead of having the ring itself attached, there is a straight rubber grip? about the width of you hand which you hold (sorry if this is hard to picture) but the difference basically is that using this, there is no top of the ring which is pushing against my forearms.

Is there something I am doing wrong here when I am performing dips on the rings? Has anyone else experienced this problem before? Any advice on how to correct this?

Thanks

Patto

Have you done the dips that come earlier in Coach's progression?

Patrick Keogh

Yeah I'm ok with other types of dips. Just seems to be when I try them on the rings...

And no i only have the rings turned out at the top, when I am in the support position. I turn them in a little as I lower myself.

Philip Chubb

If you can do them on pbars, and the straps of the rings, but not the rings themselves, maybe try checking the way your wrist is aligned on the rings. I can do a planche on the rings but sometimes when I do them, I get a sharp pain in my wrist. I simply adjust the ring positioning (anchor point) and adjust the position of my hands on the rings. Then I feel just fine. Perhaps that may help?

Patrick Keogh