Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

Trapezius pain while doing handstands

bsk1694

I have been training for handstands for about 4 months now. My progress has been very good. However I've noticed that I have started developing a burning pain in the traps whenever I'm doing any sort of overhead press.

My training for the past 1.5 year has been focused on building strength for the back lever and handstands, planche etc.

Any sort of of 45 degrees to overhead pushing has been painful. A burning sensation just on my right side. It kinda feels like it's underneath the trapezius.

Any tips on how to get rid of it or what is causing it. I think it might be worth mentioning that I've been doing a lot of push ups lately.

Thanks. :)

Nic Branson

Get a lacrosse ball, put your arm in various position and roll the muscles. Betting you will find some trigger points.

This is assuming you have no weakness or sharp acute pain. If either of those get it looked at.

Thank you! Will work on my trigger points.

But If I had any weakness, how could I correct it? and I've noticed that my pain in increased when I elevate* and protract my scapula while in the handstand? Could the pain be because of the scapular positioning?

*Elevated - Is is the thing where you push your palms into the ground thereby pushing your shoulders much closer to your ear level. right?

Nic Branson

Yes you are essentially shrugging your shoulders to elevate them. The pain could be from triggers in the tissue of the musculature. Don't aggravate it.

If there is weakness you have a more serious problem that needs a hands on evaluation.

I don't seem to have any trigger points. Could the pain arise because of my scapula positioning?

It may be worth mentioning that a similar trapezius "burn" is felt when I'm doing causal activities like sitting at a computer or riding a bike, However the one I have doing handstand is severe. :?