Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

Hollow Hold advice

newguy5000

I've been doing the Hollow Hold for about two months now 4 - 7 days a week. It still kicks my ass, but i went from being able to hold it with arms over my head for 3 x 20sec to 3 x 60sec.

My feet are currently about 1 metre of the ground if i am doing 3 sets. If i do 1 set only on (i do maintenance of 1 set on weekends) my feet are very low to the ground and the position is more 'open'.

My question is twofold.

1. How 'open' does the position progress? i.e is the ultimate aim to to have both hands and feet just slightly of the ground with lower back pressed against floor? I can do this for about 40 seconds but even though i can't stick a hand under my lower back it feels like it's not quite completely flat.

2. When should i move the Hollow Hold to 1 x 60? I can complete 3 x 60 with feet about 1 metre or a bit less off the ground. but should i continue at 3 x 60 until i can get the feet a bit lower?

Thanks for any advice.

Joshua Naterman

You should keep 3x60 until you are fully open. Eventually other straight body work is in your workout and hollow hold gets reduced to 1x60 for warm up, but once you are fully open it's time for hollow rocks!

Thanks man. Guess I have a lot more time at this progression than i realised. probably another two months away to hit that point. I am getting a lot of strength gains in my core though - Hollow Hold is like the gift that keeps on giving.

I even found Planks hard once i realised i was doing them wrong. When you extend your shoulder up it makes it a lot harder.

I've injured myself too much to rush now though, it takes as long as it takes to get the positions with proper form.