Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

Hollow and Arch

Matt R

Hey fellas,

First, thank you very much for activating my account here. I am very new to gymnastics, I stumbled upon this site after reading one of Coach Sommer's articles on planche and front lever progressions. Needless to say, I have been hooked since--I do believe gymnastics is the best blend of strength, power, flexibility, endurance, balance, and everything else an athlete would want; it is also VERY fun!

Onwards to my question, I learned something recently called "hollow body." Just to make sure we are talking about the same thing (as I am a newbie and may have the wrong name), basically I held a isometric hold on the floor with my legs and arms slightly raised. I then applied the same technique on a pull-up bar and noticed that I pulled up a whole lot easier, it brought me within tasting range of a muscle-up (and mmm, did it taste good!). As a matter of fact, the only thing that stopped me from shifting my grip and possibly completing a muscle up is that there was a ceiling right above my head.

How did that happen? Why was it so much easier to pull up and generate so much more force through a "hollow body" technique? Also, sorry for this newb question, but can anyone describe and define the difference between "hollow" and "arch"? I am still confused between the two concepts but WOW do they generate some exceptional force!

Thanks gentlemen,

gettingstronger

When you're in a hollow hold position, you're actively engaging lots of muscles as opposed to when you dead hang (hang from the up bar with a relaxed body).

The pull up would have felt easier because you'd already prep'd the body for the movement by getting those muscles engaged and ready.