Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

Elbow Soreness after Ring Training

Randeep Walia

Randeep Walia

After my really good ring workouts I feel an incredible fatigue and soreness in my elbows. I am not worried about it, because it feels very "prodcutive". That is, the pain isn't a bad pain and it feels like I am working the elbow tendon up bit by bit in preparation for doing more advanced techniques.

I'm still a beginner: I can't do a MU and my BL and FL are in a very early stage.

My question is, do I need to be worried that this soreness can lead to an injury in the future? One of the coaches at the gymnastics center that I work suggested I consider an elbow stabilizer to prevent any future injury.

Reduce your workload volume/intensity. If you use a support/stabilizer you're building a dependency on it - there will always be an imbalance between the muscle strength and the work the joint can tolerate. Allow time for the joint (and all the surrounding involved 'bits') to develop to handle the work.

Hmm. Does this go away by the next ring workout and get worse?

You have to differentiate between sensation and pain. Basically I feel something and OWW!

• 8 months later...
Randeep Walia

Bumping this thread because I took the advice here and it worked for me... at the time. The Elbow pain has returned and it certainly does not feel good or "productive" in any way :P

I have been triggering it primarily with my Negative Muscle Up training. It's at the point where extending my arm triggers. On a scale of 1 to 10 the pain is about a 3, but if it gets triggered while I am training it can make it up to the 6-7 range.

I took a week off but that did not really help. I have made the following adjustments: