Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

Starting a Flexibility Routine

305pelusa

Hello everyone!

I've been doing strength training for a couple of years already, but I'm definitely starting to feel the need for flexibility training. Stuff like V-sits, Hanging Leg Raises (with the hips well below the shoulders), and straddle positions (handstands, planches, FLs, etc) are my eventual goals, so I decided that adding flexibility already would be a great way to get to them.

However, I have no idea where to start.

I would love to be pointed towards the right direction as far as frequency, amount of holding time, best kinds of stretches, amount of "sets", etc etc.

Are there any beneficial resources I should take a look at?? Especially on programming?

A friend of mine was going to lend me his "Relax Into Stretch" by Pavel. Should I use this book ? I believe it only has about 3-4 stretches for my goals, so I'm not sure if it's a "complete" program by any standard.

Thank you very much. I just need a place to start from!

Pavel has good stuff on stretching though it's been some time since I went over it.

Try this. It was made a handful of years ago but it has some good resources. Take the recommended stretching program with a grain of salt, as I made it. It was something I used that was time efficient for a group of beginning competitive boys.

http://agt.degreesofclarity.com/stretching/

Pavel has good stuff on stretching though it's been some time since I went over it.

Try this. It was made a handful of years ago but it has some good resources. Take the recommended stretching program with a grain of salt, as I made it. It was something I used that was time efficient for a group of beginning competitive boys.

http://agt.degreesofclarity.com/stretching/

o_0 OMG, it's exactly what I needed. A place for reliable info on stretching, by a person with gymnastic background!!

Seriously, thank you very much!! :D