Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

Help me with my beginner routine

jugglinggymnast

jugglinggymnast

I’m new to gymnastics and I just completed my first week of bodyweight training. I would like to make sure I’m doing everything correctly. I am using the Killroy70 template. Here’s what my first SSC looks like:

Warmup:

-Joint/mobility prep

-FSP work – If I understand correctly we’re supposed to do 50% of our max hold for however many sets it takes to get to 60 seconds of total time. I do a circuit going from L-sit to Handstand to tuck front lever to German hang and hold each (except HS) for 10s. I then take about a 45 second rest and start the circuit again, repeat 6x. For HS, I hold for about 20 sec against wall and then freestand until losing balance ( usually around 2 seconds). Main focus now is getting L-sit to 60 seconds and getting a freestanding HS.

Here’s what I accomplished in this week’s workout:

Monday: 5x5 PPP, 5x5 tuck front lever pulls (3-4 minutes rest between sets for all exercises every day of week)

Tuesday: 5x5 Inverted Chinup, 5x5 regular dips

Thursday: 5x5 30 lb weighted chins, 5x5 HeSPU –box

Friday: 5x5 L-Chin up, 5x5 dips (originally planned 5x5 pullovers, 5x5 XR negative muscle up, but I got scared trying pullovers for the first time and the rings weren’t available at my gym so I improvised, found out that I could easily do L-chins – had never done them before) I’m going to replace the 30 lb chins on Thurs with L – chin ups for the rest of this SSC.

I plan on cutting volume in half once every 5 workouts.

Questions:

What’s a good sub for pullovers while I’m still scared to do them? I have no spotter and my gym is not at all a safe place to do them

Is it bad to do pull heavy work on consecutive days? Like me doing weighted chins and then L-chins the next day?

Is my circuit training method for FSP warmup the way it’s supposed to be done? Will that yield optimal results?