Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

Where to start for bigger guys

Fight

Hey guys, new to this board, new to gymnastics, so forgive me for anything I may screw up. I'm a biggish guy at 6'3" 195-200, probably like 12% bodyfat. I've been lifting for a while now and have some respectable lift numbers, but lately I've been feeling the need to translate that strength into something athletic. I've fought for a long time, but was always interested in gymnastics.

My question to yall is this:

What is possible for a bigger guy like me to accomplish, and how would I go about getting there? Where to start, what to do, etc etc. I realize I won't compete, and that's fine, I just don't want to be the guy who lifts to lift.

Thanks in advance for any advice/pointers.

LaughingTiger

As someone who is shorter than you but heavier, I guess I qualify as a big guy. :) I'm 5'9" and usually weigh between 220 to 230 lbs.

I'm still a beginner, and working on my basic strength. As far as a good starting point, I'd say test yourself to see how weight lifting translates to body weight exercises.

Are you able to do dips and pull ups? Are your shoulders strong enough to allow you to do a handstand against a wall? When I was in my twenties and much smaller, I thought I was something because I could bench press 280 lbs. I bought myself a pull up bar, and learned quickly that type of strength didn't help me with chin ups.

Test yourself with pull ups, dips, planks, and the exercises in the prerequisites thread to see how you can support your weight. You can use that knowledge along with some specific gymnastic goals you want to achieve to design a program that will really work for you.

Quick Start Test Smith

You should read the stickies in the Getting Started section. :)

Joshua Naterman