Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

Coaching boys- please help!

Blythe Tait

Blythe Tait

I recently gained my Men's Artistic Gymnastics certification and had assumed that I would be coaching the lowest level boys, but due to lack of coaching staff, I am about to start coaching a group of boys striving to grade level 3 (Australian National Levels Program). These boys have been without a regular coach and are hugely lacking in upper body strength.

I have been doing BtGB WODS for 6 months myself, and I would like to start incorporating the FSPs within the Steady State Training Cycle as well as the FBEs for these boys, but I'm uncertain how these should be worked in to our usual timetable. We would usually do a warm up, followed by 'shapes', followed by stretching, and then the rest of the session is divided into equal time slots on each apparatus, ending with a strength or flexibility session...

1. Would the FSPs be best incorporated into the boys' warmups the way many of us do in our WODS (after their usual running/sprinting/rebounds, etc?)

2. Where should I put conditioning??? I always thought Conditioning should go after skills training (Thomas Kurz), but Edouard Ianov apparently does it first while the boys are fresh.

3. Can the WODS be used as conditoning with these boys, or are they too generalised, targetting a population that isn't doing gymnastics skills training? I may have to adjust each WOD eg. pull/push instead of just pull, since I only see the boys for 2 sessions of 2 hours per week, but is the '4 rounds' approach still appropriate for this target group?.

So, basically...

What would be the best way to increase these boys' strength?