Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

Newbie questions???

Bright

Hey guys. Im new to all of this stuff. I just ordered rings. And i will be mounting them when they come in. I have been doing stuff like Psuedo Planch pushups to build strength for the Planche hold and planche pushups. Ive been doing pretty well, being able to only hold a straddle planche for like 2 seconds. Barely. So im working on the one before that.

So my question is,

A) When im doing the Psuedo planche pushups, i can do so many of them. When you guys say 3-5 reps is best. I thought in gymnastics you don't add weight to things. I thought it was all bodyweight... So should i do planche straddle pushups if the psuedos are getting easier?

B) Also i tend to lean way to far forward and ive camcorded myself and my legs go way high. Is there a way to strengthen my body so when i try to go for the straddle position, my body will be flat like a table? Or will that all come with strength?

btw, ive been lifting heavy since i was 13-14. Im now 18, and im doing this type of training because my lower back has had some issues with deadlifts and squats (bad form too early and lifting over heavy amounts). So im doing this to get strong for my bodyweight because i am going to be doing MMA in about 4-6 months from now. Since stopping lifting so heavy, i have also felt better. Im not sure why. But for some reason, this past week when i rolled with my friend in BJJ, i felt stronger, and ive only been doing this stuff 3 times before we rolled... maybe he had a bad day? :D Or maybe its gymnastics! :D

Ive been training off nothing but the things i have read from here. Holds, pushups, HS pushups, ect..ect... 4 days a week, while doing BJJ with my friend 2 days a week.

Im going on my second week of training.

MY GOALS:

- Planche pushups

- Handstand pushup (not on wall)

- Human flag hold (this one is tough..well they are all tough)