Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

beginner workout?

22Ghost

hi everyone this is my first post hopefully with many to come. My fitness goals don't include competing but i find the physique and strength of gymnists to be my personal everest and hope to accomplish this within the next couple of years. that being said should i start wods right away (i am planing to get the book i'll start there with the wods) of should i get more into shape first then start? right now i am 5'10" 175 lbs i have around 11% body fat, max weights include curl:50lbs 1-2 reps, bench:225lbs 1-2 reps, squat:i haven't calculated yet somewhere around350-400lbs. 400 in less than a minute. don't really run long distance so i don't have a mile time. any help would be awesome like i said i am a beginner when it comes to gymnastics training moderate when it comes to weight training.

Thanks

Jeff J.

Michael Miskelly

Welcome,

First off I have very little experience with weightlifting so I dont know how your strength will carry over to rings/gymnastic stuff. Some of the other guys will be able to advise you on that side more. As far as starting out you should find most answers in these threads:

http://www.gymnasticbodies.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=18&t=5265

http://www.gymnasticbodies.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=14&t=1957

Do you have rings yet or access to them? They aren't essential but will make most of the exercises prescribed much more accessible.

Good luck, Mic

no i don't have any rings but i plan to get the book and ring package once i find a job. i just moved to north carolina for school and need to find a job then i can spend money again. thanks for the thread links.

Ghost, in the meantime, you should see about making your own set of rings. They aren't great but they'll work.