Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

Overexercising? Comments please

garth64

This is my first time posting; I just got the coaches book and have started reading it along with posts on this forum. I'm 60 years old, 5'9", 170 lbs.; I presently do the exercises listed 3 times a week; I've worked up to this over the last 3 years. I've added some of the exercises from the book to my routine recently. I don't know if I'm overexercising or not; I'm never sore, just very tired when I'm finished. Overall it takes me 1.5 hrs to complete. Any comments, suggestions would be appreciated. Thanks.

The exercises:

1-Stationary bicycle 30 minutes cardio

2-shoulder warm-up - have small tear in cuff

3-weighted pull-ups(30lbs)- 3sets, 3 grips 12,10,6

4-weighted dips(30lbs)- 3sets 15,12,10

5-hanging leg lifts- 3sets

6-lying body levers- 3 sets

7-tucked front lever - 3X15sec- added april 2010

8-AB crunches, elevated feet-1set, 40 reps

9-AB bicycle kicks-1set, 50 reps

10-Handstand pushups, against wall, get halfway down 3sets, 3 reps- added april 2010

11- frog stands, straight arms, 3X10sec- added april 2010

12-close grip chins- 3sets- 15,10,8

13-dumbell tricep extensions(30lbs)- 3sets, 15 reps

14- leg press or squat(180 lbs)- 2 sets 15 reps

15-calf raise(180 lbs)- 2 sets 12 reps

If you have worked up to that over the past three years you are most likely not overtraining. The gradual build in work capacity is great. As long as you feel no strain or injuries it seems all fine!

Definitely too much even if your are progressing: is important not only to progress, but to do it in the more efficent way.

When I train I use 1 exercise each for pressing, pulling, core, legs and statics + flexibilty and technical drills, and it requires 90 mins.

In very simple terms, beyond 5 reps in a set and you're no longer training strength. You're training different metabolic pathways and are becoming more endurant.