Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

Difference between types of flexibility

Alexis Solis

I'm a noob in flexibility, and I've heard a lot of different types of flexibility. I am as flexible as a rock, and I wanted to start working on that problem. I just read a lot of words that don't make any sense to me, such as passive, active, static, dynamic, isometric flexibility. What are the most beneficial kinds of flexibility for my age and gymnastics? (18).

Thanks a lot!

Quick Start Test Smith
I'm a noob in flexibility, and I've heard a lot of different types of flexibility. I am as flexible as a rock, and I wanted to start working on that problem. I just read a lot of words that don't make any sense to me, such as passive, active, static, dynamic, isometric flexibility. What are the most beneficial kinds of flexibility for my age and gymnastics? (18).

Thanks a lot!

Hi, 3runMX. :)

This thread should explain a lot to you: http://www.martialartsplanet.com/forums ... hp?t=85373

And a more kicking specific thread and article: http://www.martialartsplanet.com/forums ... hp?t=89245

Hope that helps!

Patrick

Edit:

Another GREAT resource for you: http://www.trickstutorials.com/index.ph ... lexibility :!:

Wow thanks a lot man! I just finished reading the trickstutorials website and it's amazing. I understood everything but one thing. Maybe you could explain it to me. Jujimufu talks about Relaxed Stretching as a way of Static Passive Stretching right? But he says:

"For the splits, I would work each split ten minutes per day after a warmup, or as long as it takes to reach your maximal painless limit of motion without tension. Once reached, you'll benefit most from a 30 second hold. It takes more time, but it still works."

He also says: "It can take several minutes, but when you reach your maximal stretch - hold this position for thirty seconds."