Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

equivalent of one arm pull up

meep

what does everyone think the equivalent of the oap is in terms of pushing strength? one arm dips? one arm head stand push ups? I like to try and keep a balanced body ( very hard as a rock climber) and have been training for some time towards a oap and would like to start working towards the pushing equivalent.

One arm dips seems quite impossible to me..

I think the One Arm Push-up is a nice eqavuilent, a bit easier maybe..

just about any one who can do 20 normal push ups and do a bad looking one arm push up, a oap is another level completely in my opinion. one arm dips are possible ( not on the rings i don't think) and so are one arm headstand push ups, but I'm now thinking that maybe a one arm press and handstand are more the equivalent. I'm not talking about short term achievable moves as i have been training the oap for 5 months with progress I'm just still a long way off (i think).

Guest Chiflado

Well there is such a thing as a GOOD one arm pushup. If you want to make it more difficult try it one arm and one leg (say you're doing the pushup with the right arm... lift the right leg) a one arm one foot good

form pushup takes some good strength. But as far as an equivalent... I'm not sure as I'm not all that knowledgeable. :P So maybe wait for someone with more knowledge and experience.

A strict one arm push up is really, really hard.

If you can do a strict one arm, one leg push up, you're doing pretty damn well.

While I don't know whether these are anywhere near equivalent to a one arm pull up, working them will do a great deal to bring your body back into balance.

I don't know about bodyweight exercises, but if you can do a one-arm military press with 3/5 of your BW or more, that's definitely equivalent.

• 2 months later...