Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

Chest roll to handstand

Sven Ravnstag

Sven Ravnstag

I'm working my way rough the WOD's and today I attempted the second one. It calls for a multi plane movement variation, and since I'm new to gymnastics I tried chest roll to headstand. I don't get it. I searched these forums and google, but no helpful videos or explanations turned up.

I'm assuming that, at least with the headstand version, there's a kick up with the feet? I'm just struggling a little with the mechanics. I saw the video here of the boy going into a handstand; It seemed like the key there was positioning the hands down towards the hips, leaning forward and pressing up. I don't have the strength to keep my body rigid for that movement yet, but is the chest roll to headstand calling for the same type of movement?

I'm just trying to figure out if there is something I'm misunderstanding, or if this movement is just too advanced for my current ability. If so, what sort of drills might I'm substitute for it (since this is the easiest movement in the multi-plane pressing section)?

Thank you in advance for your assistance.

Joshua Naterman

If you can't do any multi-plane work, that's fine. You'll want to just work on basic strength, so substitute a few PPP and a HeS push up starting from the down position for the chest rolls when they come up.

Chest rolls require you to keep a very strong arch in the back the whole time. It's tough to get into the habit, but once you do these become a lot more manageable. It's definitely a skill as well as a strength move!

When you say you're working your way through the WODs, what does that mean? Are you starting with the very first WOD ever?