Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

Looking for a proper start and guidance

val

Hey people Val here. From singapore. I'm 25 this year, and i've done recreational gymnastics when i was 17. Learnt a little bit of tumbling, such as front tucks, back tucks, side flips, round off back tuck. But then after enlisting into the military my skills all disappeared. So after like 2 years of being inactive I decided to make a come back.

When i came back everything i picked up was self taught and from videos and stuff, i haven't gotten my round off back tuck back yet and my back tuck is lacking a huge amount of confidence. I do have open gym sessions which i frequent once a week.

I'm just wondering can anyone give me some pointers on how do start training smart and learn proper techniques? Like what would be the right way to approach training and how do i train even without the access of a gymnastics hall at time and what can i do to maintain and further improve?

Thanks!

Joshua Naterman

The single best thing you can do is get your own copy of Building The Gymnastic Body. It has all the progressions for basic strength. That will help you learn exactly how to build your basic strength step by step. Basic strength is planche, FL, BL, Manna, L-sit, Straddle L, handstand, handstand push ups, beginning rings work, and more. It's a LOT. You'll be lost without the book.

The second thing you should do is start doing the WODs posted here. They are not random. They are a specific training cycle that Coach uses to develop his athletes all the way from beginners to national champions. Follow them and you WILL succeed! Once you have the book, you'll understand the WODS and you will probably have a lot of questions on how to scale them down to your abilities. Make sure you aren't shy about asking! Every answer will be in reference to the book, so without it you're severely handicapped.