Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

Easiest Hamstring Variations: Leg Curl / GHR / ??

ASForum

I tried doing a Leg Curl -ve and I couldnt hold myself past 5 /10 degree angle from vertical. Went into hips piking and giving up on the movement.

Is there a way to do some Leg Curl progression to make it easier for a starter?

Is Leg Curl easier than GHR stuff?

What would be the easiest Hamstring Variation / Progression?

Do you own the book?

I went through the book. Cant seem to do the Leg Curl (1st one). Should I try the GHR-half / Archups etc? Is there some way to make these easier (I cant just do a TUCK here..lol to make it easier)??

Neal Winkler

Yeah, half ghr is easier than leg curl (archups too). Perhaps Coach will fix this in 2nd edition.

Ryan Libke

If you can situate an anchor point above where your legs are secured, you can use a strength band. I have been using these for the last several months, using the band so I can lower slowly and keep form on the way back up. As my strength has improved, I have used thinner bands.

Before I had any bands, I would lower to the best of my ability, and catch myself with my hands. Then I would push up with just enough force to get me to the angle where I had sufficient strength in my hammies to execute the motion.

Erik Sjolin

I did that too, but instead of trying to gauge the force I used, I just put my hands by my hips (like a pseudo planche pushup) to help myself up.

Continue to work the NLC at your angle.

If you so wish, you can stack books, use stools or chairs to put your hands on allow you to lower further.

Don't pike your hips!

Glute bridges are decent exercises besides the reverse hyper (RLL in GB) but more than likely you will have to weight them eventually. They are used for the lower back in GB but work the glutes and hamstrings as well. As to whether they work your glutes and hams or lower back is something you will have to find out.