Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

Critique a summer routine for me and friends

grprahl

Sorry to post yet another "critique my routine" post, but since I have other people that will be using this workout as well I would really like some input because I don't want to hurt anyone.

A little background first. I'm a track and field guy. 19 years old. Have been training for the decathlon the past year but chronic hamstring issues are forcing me to take some time off from the events. I have always been fairly strong for my size, nothing spectacular... and have always been well above average in my abilities to learn new things and to become a great technician. I've done a lot of running and jumping in the past (probably 5 years), and a lot of weightlifting (same amount of time)(olympic lifting and powerlifting mostly). I have some experience working on bodyweight strength and conditioning but it's mostly off and on. Both friends are also no strangers to the weight room and athletic field.

I'm not going to list everything, because I have a fifteen week program set up and it would fill up several pages. I have taken bits and pieces from two different collegiate track and field lifting programs and Coach Sommer's "Building the Gymnastic Body." Here's the basic M/W/F template:

Anything with a GB in front of it is from the gymnastic bodies training.

Monday: [supersets in brackets] Mostly lifting day

Warm up (dynamic warm-up, pre-hab, med-ball circuit)

Lifting (Snatch, [back Squat, Lower body auxillaries], [bench, pushing auxillaries], [Lat pulldown, pull auxilaries])

Isometrics (chest, lower body, GB back lever, GB L-sit)

Circuits (Core, plate)

Cooldown (Hangs, self or partner soft tissue work, static flexibility)

Wednesday: More bodyweight stuff

Warm Up: Same as Monday

Lifting (Cleans, [Front squat, low. body aux’s], [G.B push, G.B. HSPU, G.B. Dip], [G.B. Pullups, GB rows, GB curls]