Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

Training till failure?

John Sapinoso

John Sapinoso

How often do you train till muscle failure...if at all?

I'd like to hear your opinions on the advantages and disadvantages of this.

Someone knowledgeable in the correlation of failure, CNS, and muscle recovery want to help enlighten me?

Thanks.

As for me:

I actually like the feeling of waking up the next morning and not being able to move so I'll train to muscle failure maybe once a week, but I think much more than that could be detrimental to strength gains and recovery so I'll usually train close to, but not till form failure or get a spot once my form fails.

Hi there,

I am by no means an expert on the subject in any way but I personally don't train to failure for two reasons:

Firstly, I'm fairly new to Gymnastic Strength Training™ so I feel training to failure inhibits my ability to perform 100% from there on for the rest of my routine.

I'm pretty sure it is harder to recover from.

That said, I have read about some people who train that go to failure on rare occassions.

I personally keep a few seconds away from failure with isometric holds, or 1-2 reps if an exercise.

Hope this helps. Thanks

Guest Valentin

Hi

I personally train till form is compromised, however this for me tends to be at about the same time as failure. However i try to avoid total failure, but unfortunately i dont always listen to my advice, old habits die hard (having a bodybuilding background)

Training till failure is most effective in developing hypertrophy. This is because this does the most amount of structural damage to the muscle fibers. This is essential for hypertrophy as it stimulates the necessary body responses to elicit muscular growth. However this is not always very effective in recruiting new, motor units, and it most certainly doesn't

effectively train the working motor units firing rate.