Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

New to gymnastics-workout advice??

Mason89

Hello i recently purchased coach sommers gymnastics bodies and a set of extreme rings. I really enjoyed reading the book and have devised my own program. As i am new to the whole gymnastic way of training i was wondering if anyone could read through my program and give any feedback?

Monday:

L-sit 6x10sec hold-rest 30secs between each hold

(press): bulgarian ring push up, alternated with (pull): front lever row tuck 3x5 each rest 45 secs

(core): v-up ful alternated with (legs): deck squat for height 3x5 each rest 45

Tuesday:

Back lever 6x10secs hold- rest 30 secs between each hold

(press):handstand ascent, alternated with (pul): inverted chins 3x5 each rest 45 secs

(core):hanging leg ift alternated with (legs): glute ham raise 3x5 each rest 45 secs

Thursday:

Front lever 6x10secs hold- rest 30secs between each hold

(press): ring dips,shoulders lower than hands, alternated with (pull):l-chins 3x5 each rest 45 secs

(core):back extensions alternated with (leg):single leg deck squat 3x5 each rest 45 secs

Friday:

L-sit 6x10sec hold then v-up 3x5

straddle l 6x10sec hold then hanging leg lift 3x5

back lever 6x10sec hold then front lever row 3x5

front lever 6x10sec hold then deck squat jump for height 3x5

planche frog stand 6x10sec hold then push up rings ppp 3x5

Any help is much appreciated, thank u :)

Joshua Naterman

You need more rest between sets. The goal is to build strength, and your body can't regenerate the energy substrates necessary for maximal contractions in 45 seconds. 2-5 minutes rest is what you'll need.

Really more rest? i feel ready to attack the next set (prob means im not contracting hard enough)

but thank u for the advice i will increase my rest-

was the rest of the program ok?

Joshua Naterman

Overall, the basic structure is a good starting program.