Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

gymnastics for a hobbyist bodybuilder

Marco Seid

Hello all,

I've been lurking these forums for a while now, and I am very impressed by the strength of a lot of members, so I would like to give you guys some background info and ask some question:

People who know me consider me a gym rat. I'm not trying to brag, but I'm very muscular as I've been training for ~8 years and have used steroids. For my size, I have decent strength (bench 315 lbs for 10 reps). However, I've noticed a lot of users here do very impressive moves but are not jacked at all. Would my size be a significant disadvantage? I have a feeling it will be since I have never seen any big gymnasts (yes olympic gymnasts are really muscular but they are also 5'6 while I'm 6'2). The only guys that are around my size are probably the guys from Barstarzz. However, this relates to my 2nd question,

Ultimately, my goals are to do muscle-ups, inverted muscle-ups, planche pushups, front lever rows, iron cross, inverted iron cross, victorian cross and maltese cross. I understand that this will take me many years (probably a decade) with consistent training, but it should be achievable right? I'm not aiming for super-crazy-advanced moves am I? 

Thirdly, I don't plan to compete, I purely want to do gymnastics as a hobby. I plan to cut down bodybuilding to 4 days per week and train gymnastic moves 2 days a week, and swimming/rest 1 day a week. How often do you guys train gymnastics (i.e., what volume and frequency do you find works best for you)?

Lastly, what are some gymnastics moves for legs? I can already do pistol squats and shrimp squats. Has anyone been able to do back-flip or front-flip pistol squats lol?

Thanks for reading.

Alessandro Mainente

Hi Marco , thank you for writing us your experience. i'll write you there some ideas/answers: