Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

Transitioning from HSPU on Wall to Freestanding

iyaites

Since i started training HeSPU i've always done them with my feet on a wall for balance. I built up to a point where I can do more than 10 HeSPU, and 2-3 HSPU but i cannot do them without the wall at all. I go into a freestanding Headstand and can push off the ground for a few inches, but then it just stops and if I try to push harder, I lose balance and come down to my frontside. I've tried to do slow negatives for a few sessions, but it did not help much. Its pretty much the same issue here, i lower down with my face about 1-2 inches off the ground, and then my body planche to much. But Freestanding Half ROM HeSPU is no problem. I can do a slow controlled negative bower, and a few seconds straddle planche, so i think planche strength is not really the problem here...

Joshua Naterman

Well, you're more advanced than me! If I were in your position, I'd start working the freestanding HSPU on paralletes, and stack books so your head only goes down an inch below your hands. Every month go an inch further down if you're handling the reps easily! It's the same concept Coach uses for partial HeSPU, and I think it will work well for you developing your HSPU for good reps!

In fact, if you don't have shoulder issues I'd say start with the books (or whatever you use) stacked just high enough to let you get 6 or 7 reps. Then start lowering each month!

Nick Van Bockxmeer

HeSPU - hands to the level of the head, as would be performed on floor

HSPU - hands to the level of the shoulders, as would be performed on p bars or rings

Hey slizzardman, your advice is good, but i think you misunderstood a little bit my problem!