Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

Getting Started!

cjt

Hi all, my name is Calum, I'm 23 years old and I'm from the UK. I've been lurking this site for a few days, and I've learned a great deal, but all of this information can be slightly overwhelming! I'm new to all of this, so I was helping I could get a few pointers. My goal is to attain the gymnastic body (naturally), be more flexible, and do a little of what a gymnast can. I don't expect to be doing triple somersaults, but I'd like to be able to hold an iron cross for longer than a couple of seconds, and I'd love to be able to do side lever pulls.

These are my fitness goals, but I'm a long way from attaining them, I'm starting my quest from the very beginning. I have almost no strength whatsoever after leading a sedentary lifestyle. Where do I start? Where does an absolute beginner to the world of strength and flexibility start out? I can do only a handful of push ups, I'd be surprised if I can muster the strength for one pull up, and my core strength is extremely lacking.

I'm currently eating at a caloric deficit attained by both eating smaller portions of "cleaner" food, and more exercise via cycling and walking. I lose a steady 1.5-2lbs per week. I'm 5' 6" annd 140lbs for reference. I still have at least 30lbs to shed, and I'm hoping to be done with my initial fat loss phase by the end of June.

I am not flexible, where does a beginner start for flexibility? As well purchasing Coach Sommer's book, I borrowed a book from the library called "Relax Into Stretch" by Pavel Tastsouline, is this a good starting point?

There's my background information, what I'd really like to know is where do I go from here? can I start bodyweight resistance training right away on a caloric deficit diet? What kinda of exercises should I start with? Push ups, crunches, dips, pull ups, squats? How do I get more flexible? What kind of program should I following?