Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

GB/lifting/sprinting

Rachel Izzo

HI everyone! I'm new to the GB community. I am actually a former gymnast looking to get back into it for fun; I've done a few gymnastics classes but some recommended GB to me to work on my weaknesses before getting back into tumbling full for, especially my thoracic mobility because I have None for a gymnast!

My question -- do people use GB as their primary source of training, and do nothing else? Or do most people use it as a complement to other training? I am also a former competitive Olympic lifter (and still battling that tightness that comes along with lifting) and also soccer player (love sprinting). If i did a day of lifting and a day of sprinting in addition to the GB program, would that offset my progress? If I want to get into gymnastics again (for fun!!!!), would my progress be offset by adding one day a week of those two actitivites? I am also a nurse who works three 12 hour shifts, s I can only work out 4 days week (and never really get a rest day!)

Thank you!

Alessandro Mainente

Hi Rachel , it depends on your primarily goal. If you want to return to gymnastics you need to focus on fill the gap from your condition to the optimal condition for gymnastics skills work. Add something it is not a real problem until they have a negative impact (injuries, too much stress, not enough recovery) for your GST work.

• Upvote 1

Thank you for your feedback. So you think one day of lifting will stall my progress in flexibility etc to get back to doing gymnastics (without injury, my goal -- I have the power just not the flexibility and strength in some areas). 

Also, what do you think the best way to organize the program is -- do all the GST in one session twice a week and a day of lifting/sprinting, or break it up and do a little GST each day with another activity (like yoga, lifting etc).