Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

Increasing reps?

Timy7

Following a basic steady state cycle.

Im not a beginner, but definitely not advanced. To date I can hold a back and front full lever, no piking or sagging. Iron cross, just nailed my straddle planche after over a year of work, full ROM hspu's, almost have a good straddle L.

Anyways, I really like the physique changes I have seen, but still not quite enough. Would say increasing my set and rep scheme to 7-10 sets of 3-5 instead of 3x5 help with this?

I can do 3x5 smooth strict muscle ups, flat tuck planche pushups, bulgarian dips, handstand pushups, full ROM GHR, rock bottom pistols, etc and I feel like I have stagnated. I dont want to add a weighted vest as I enjoy pure bodyweight. But I dont want to be bigger.

Also side note, I am not a competitve gymnast, not do I ever plan to be. I do however love learning new skills, and I love these methods, just not sure where to go from here.

Thanks to anyone for any help you can offer, or any random thoughts as well.

Joshua Naterman

Additional resistance is honestly your only ticket to actually gaining strength in these movements. Either go to a harder progression, which if you've noticed in the book sometimes DOES involve weighted vests, add weight to what you are currently doing, and/or where possible start working on one arm variations.

Adding volume WILL add muscular size, that's just how the body works. I'd suggest you slowly increase the volume one set of 3 per week and then turn them into sets of 5 if that's the route you choose to go, just to avoid overloading your body too much.

Guest Ido Portal

Actualy I am a big believer in increasing work capacity in order to upgrade intensity.