Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

How to build up strength to perform levers on rings ?

koopciuch

Hello to all.

I have read "Beginning Ring Strength Series" written by Coach and to be honest i am terrified.

Judging by a subject of the post i thought that was something for me, because the fact is that i've been training on rings only just for two months.

I've tried to perform this "one of the simplest ring strength series" as Coach said and i must say that it is impossible for me, especially when it comes to front/back levers. However, i was able to perfrom it with my cousin's help, but it was very hard anyway.

If that kind of ring strentgh series are considered as basics then i'm way before basics.

What would be the best way to train in order to gain strenght that would allow to perfrom front/back levers on rings, cranks or similiar exercises? I know that my question is very general and there's probably a lot of ways to train, but i'd be gratefull for any guidelines.

Currently, among others i'm working on musce-ups, and i'm also in progress of planche/lever progressions.

David Picó García

Try to do the levers with one or two legs tucked but try to mantain your back straight. There's a lot of difference from just tuck one leg from the two leg straight form.

On rings it is not only really good core strength, there is a lot of strength needed in your shoulders to hold everything together. Really the progression is the same as everything, start off with tucked or single legged levers. I started off with support holds, then started doing l-sits on rings then moved to single legged back levers, theres a lot of non-ring work that can be done to help you with levers on rings. Things such as body levers will help you a lot with both front and back levers, link to that article is here http://gymnasticbodies.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=509 . Also look around for an ab wheel, that baby kicked my core into shape in no time.