Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

Tallish guy and forward bends

Johnnie Lieske

Johnnie Lieske

Newbie here after hearing coach Sommers on Paleo Solution podcast.

I'm 51, 6/1" about 160 and touching my toes has been a life long no-go for me. Ever since being a kid. So when I watched the first assessment video and saw that the forward bend was the first step it immediately triggered "hmm, maybe this isn't right for me" symptoms.

It's been a constant frustration in yoga classes say, when the instructor who since birth has been able to fold completely in half yet doesn't seem to understand that some people aren't built like that out of the chute. I've never been evaluated on this and have just felt that "hey, I'm long and sinewy" 

Will I be able to compensate for this issue doing the Foundation courses? Can I look to improve this mobility going forward? Are the manuals/videos/instructors/people on the forums sympathetic to this plight?

Thanks

Kevin Easton

I started off 2016 about 7" away from touching my toes doing a standing pike.

Now with a bit of warm up I can touch my fingers to the floor.

I have done middle split and front split series each once per week since January.  I know this isn't record breaking, but over 7" is a huge change in just a few months.  The only reason I got there is from taking 45 minutes twice per week stretching. 

My guess is I am a couple years away from a full pancake, or a pike with my nose to my knees, but I am in it for the long haul and so far I am happy with my progress. 

It's not impossible, it just take time and committment.

• Upvote 2

Eva Pelegrin

We are sympathetic because we all have "mobility issues."

Some people are born more gumby or gifted than others, but in my experience, all the people I've worked with who could not touch their toes is not because they were born that way. They never trained mobility, seriously. Period. Plain and simple.