Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

Gymnastics, weight training, and limitations

bst

I'm eager to get opinions on the issue of training both gymnastics and weights simultaneously, while at the same time dealing with various limitations (physiological as well as lack of certain facilities). Slizzardman, Braindx, Blairbob, Ido (to name a few): please chime in here as i think your knowledge and experience will be invaluable to the discussion, and i'm hoping that what develops in this thread might help others users who are asking some of the same questions.

First, I'll give some background on myself to use a preliminary case study: 36yrs old, 5'10'', 175lbs. My training age is 15yrs. Up until last year, my training consisted of solely weight training and various outdoor activities (cycling, trail running, etc.). The last 5 years or so I've been doing largly Oly lifts and other explosive-type movements. Being a massage therapist, I'm acutely aware of the dangers of overtraining/injury, and always include recovery/prehab protocols in my programs. I've a myriad of different phsyiological "issues", which i'm likely hyper-sensitive too due to my knowledge and vocation, and will not go into most of them here.