Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

Shoulder problem?

madiyaan1

Hello:

I am a 23 year old male.

I have been training for about 8 months now and I feel stronger than ever before. I can hold tucked planche for about 8 seconds max.

The problem I am having is this: I have a painless click in my shoulder. It's an annoying sound that is produced when I rotate my arm, especially when the angle of rotation is large. Basically when the arm is towards the posterior side and I rotate it up and down, my shoulder produces a clicking sound. It feels like a tendon slides over a bone.

I went to a doctor to get it examined, but he did not find any weakness. I don't feel weak in that shoulder either and there is no pain. It's the sound that is bothering me. It sounds unnatural. I make sure to warm up and stretch my joints always, but this click doesn't seem to go away.

Has anyone experienced this problem? How can I reduce this problem? Should I stop stretching my shoulder and give it complete rest? Or should I keep rotating it and hopefully the click will go away? The left arm sometimes feels like it is slightly away from being fully inside the shoulder socket. But I feel no weakness. I am not sure whether this is a partial rotator cuff tear or something like that.

Any help would be useful.

• 1 month later...
Nic Scheelings

Hi there.

I've experienced the same problem and for me it was the longhead of the biceps tendon catching (clicking). If your problem is the same as mine it was caused by a strength imbalance between my pec, deltoid, and my rotator cuff. The solution was basically to strengthen the rotator cuff. I don't think it's uncommon and a massage could really help as well.

• 4 months later...

I have this clicking too when I rotate my arm in a circle. It doesn't hurt or anything. I've been searching the forums and google for ways to get rid of it but haven't been able to come up with anything.