Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

How far apart should foundations elements progress?

John Filippini

John Filippini

First, love the program, been using it to help improve my general health particularly in the shoulder girdle with great success. I have some CF background from 8 years ago but pretty quickly transitioned to Olympic weightlifting focused training after about a year of CF. My coach moved away to med school about 4 years into my weightlifting training and within 6 months bad decisions in training happened (wouldn't ya know) and I have some shoulder issues that I was never fully able to repair, only manage. Pretty much any attempt at consistent goal-oriented training on anything other than periodic back squat cycles since my injury have ended prematurely in pain, so I'm pretty detrained. A combination of Foundations, H1 and the stretch series is the best thing that has happened to this point for my shoulders!

My question is related to some disparities in my Foundations movements. After 3 months of consistent training, testing every movement before allowing myself to move on, I was training at fairly different levels for some movements.

My SLS progression was by far the best, mastering all of F1 pretty quickly (my ankle stabilizers fatigue quickly, but hips/legs are still fine and bordering on bored). Side lever is similarly strong due to low back strength from lifting, expecting to progress to PE5 in the next 2 weeks.