Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

Locking limbs: when to do and when to avoid?

Guido Franchetti

Guido Franchetti

As far as I know (but I am a beginner!), for many exercises, both with body weight and with weights, it is recommended not too fully lock limbs when performing reps. Examples are push ups pull ups, shoulder presses... I suppose this is to protect the joint  - against what exactly?

On the other hand, it seems to me that some gymnastic movement, for example handstands, are to be performed with fully locked limbs, and the load is considerable.

So, I would like to understand when is it bad to lock limbs and when it is not. Is the point that it is wrong doing it when you are bending and extending multiple times, like in push ups, but it is fine when holding, like in handstands, or is it something else?

Dylan Robertson

You should be locking out at the bottom of pull-ups, top of Push-Ups/Dips, etc. Its not dangerous, and you will be fine. Most of the people who advocate the don't lock out, have terrible form anyway, and are getting injured because of their terrible form and mobility deficits.

• Upvote 1

Ivan Pavlovic

As far as I know (but I am a beginner!), for many exercises, both with body weight and with weights, it is recommended not too fully lock limbs when performing reps. Examples are push ups pull ups, shoulder presses... I suppose this is to protect the joint  - against what exactly?

This can be heard by more and more people which are doing bodybuilding.