Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

The Iron Cross

Castleclimber

Castleclimber

Hello everyone,

This is my first post on the forum. I'm a newbie gymnast having started last October. I have a list of goals of which one is the Iron Cross. Despite it being one of the harder items on my list (along with the planche - my nemesis) I started training for it in January using a British version of the Elite Strength Trainer. (I have a good background in bodyweight conditioning from before starting gymnastics so I'm injury free so far). I feel like I'm making significant progress with it though I'm by no means close.

I have given a brief overview on my blog of the last six months training for the cross and was wondering if anybody had anything to add that may help me in achieving it.

During this time I have also been regularly climbing, practising parkour and some circus skills.

An advance thank you for your help,

Castleclimber

London, Uk

http://super-human-strength.blogspot.com/

P.s If it's of any interest to anyone, I will be reviewing both the Elite Strength Trainer and The Gymnova Educano on the blog in the next week or so.

For planche, you can change how you point your fingers out to adjust for wrist flexibility. You can do it with the fingers out to the sides or towards your feet. It changes it a bit but is valid.

Castleclimber

Thanks Blairbob, I'll try some different hand positions for the planche - hands behind sounds good but must be difficult to hold the balance. I'll have a play with this for the tuck planche and let you know how it goes.

I think I saw a picture of you doing a straddle planche. How long did it take?

My 2 cents:

-reduce iron cross training, it is better to have a large reserve of strength before training a skill

Do:

-front/back lever for 10s, they build much of the core strength required

-rings handstand, for straight arm strength

-long, wide arm muscle ups

Castleclimber