Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

Shoulder Position on pressing movements

AlexX

My supraspinatus muscle is a pretty banged up so maybe its just me but I wanted to ask the question about peoples shoulder position on pressing exercises especially the handstand press. When I first started training the planche my shoulders would kill after every set not the good pain either. Very sharp pain in the shoulder like something was tearing, I almost gave up on planche training until I noticed that I was shrugging my shoulders forward on every set as soon as I focused on the shoulder being pulled back the pain totally disappeared. I have to consciously thing about doing it on every set otherwise the naturally thing that my shoulders seem to want to do is be shrugged forward.

Now I started training the handstand press and seem to be facing the same problem during the brief moment when your body is horizontal to the floor my shoulders shrug forward like crazy and since I am moving it is a lot harder to consciously get them to be in the retracted position. Now the problem is easily fixed obviously with working on retracting my shoulders but the question is has anyone else with their training found that they have to focus on keeping their shoulder back otherwise they shrug forward? or perhaps you don't and it doesn't bother you?

Coach Sommer

Excellent question 8).

Press handstand work and planche work require substantially different shoulder positions. For your press handstand work, strive to keep the shoulders directly above the hands at all times. As your current level of strength does not allow this for a complete repetition, a nice way to progressively build this strength is by elevating the feet in a similar manner to box HeSPUs as shown in BtGB on pg. 77.