Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

improve legs strenght

rkendricks1988

rkendricks1988

Hi Coach,

I was hoping you could help me put together a leg program or routine using the leg exercises in your book. I am a rookie at this so can you help work my way up. My goal for my legs is to be strong as possible and to improve my vertical and I guess you can say its gymnastics for basketball.

Ok, I messed up on editing your original post as I was trying to move to "Getting Started" and in the progress lost your post, Nifty. I merged it with the one in "Getting Started" but accidentally deleted that one instead of the one in Dynamic Strength besides the one in Basic Strength. There is no need to start up one topic in multiple threads.

From what I remember of Nifty's post, it stated that you follow the Single Leg Squat variations described in the book and then move on to SLS jumping variations after attaining a standing SLS to the deck and back.

Do you have the book? It sort of lays this out and shows the progressions.

What is your vertical jump currently besides your height and size?

What current Single Leg Squat progression can you do for reps? Example...how many Single Leg Squats can you do on each leg? Can you do one at all, yet? ( no biggie, SLS is very much a skill besides requiring flexibility and balance besides just leg strength ).

If you notice a lot of the leg workouts in the GB WOD are 3x5 SLS coupled with floor glute-hams resting for 3-5 minutes between each. That is a good workout for leg strength.

For leg power, 3x5 SLS progression jumps coupled with depth jumps ( find an appropriate height that is good and safe for you ). Jumping deck squats work as well besides "Senders" which are plyometric jumps { "punches" on the floor with the feet ) over objects of appropriate size ( check out the video ).

Richard Duelley