Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

Need help with deck squats please

SaNdMaN

so.............i start off standing up - sit down - roll back - as im coming back up i need to take a little hop backwards to keep my balance. Should i just do them like that or should i just roll back down after i realize i cannot go any further.

Joshua Naterman

Are you starting from a shoulderstand on your back? Body straight up in the air, balanced on your shoulders and neck? I noticed that it is much easier for me when I perform the deck squats from that position, otherwise like you I find it hard to roll enough to get centered over my feet.

i start standing straight up and still have trouble getting back up ( i am very new to all this so my body is not used to these motions, i am very unbalanced).

It means as you sit up, your weight is still behind you.

For the deck squat, you need to get your knees over your toes which will place your hips over your knees. If they aren't, your hips will be behind your feet and you won't get out.

Focus on getting those knees over your toes and reaching as far forward as possible. Eventually this won't be an issue when you're stronger.

If you rock back to the shoulderstand/candlestick position, you can get more momentum unless you just allow your hips to fall down and pike as you roll forward out of the shoulderstand/candlestick.

Tight hamstrings, adductors and glutes will make this much harder to do. I work out with a guy who lifts weights and I am sure he can squat far more than I can but he has trouble with these because he does not have the range of motion necessary. If you have the flexability you hardly have to roll at all to stand up. If you are new to this I am guessing flexability has a lot to do with it as most people do not bother with it unless it is part of a sport they do. Try stretching before you do these and see if it helps.

Andrew

Nobodystopsdblob