Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

Hand direction on planche

ajhoover

Hello everyone,

I am new to this forum and so far have been very impressed with the collective knowledge of many different forms of training. I personally practice yoga, break dancing, and am relativly new to gymnastics. Most of my background is in yoga so i am used to doing almost everything with my hands forward. I have been practicing the planche for about 5 months now and have achieved a 5 sec hold on the straddle planche with my hands forward. If I move the position of my hands to face backwards I can barely hold an adv tuck planche for 5 sec. This makes me believe that all the practice I have done has made some muscles very strong while others got neglected. So my question is what is the muscle difference between hands forward and backwards and what exercises can I do to strengthen these ares.

Joshua Naterman

hands forward is much more forearm, shoulder and chest dependant, whereas hands backward is much more forearm, bicep and chast dependant, much less on the actual shoulders. They still work, obviously, but there is a lot more stress on the structures around the elbow, specifically the biceps and the inside of the forearm. The wrist series will help a lot, check out the dorsal pushups and first knuckle pushups.

There is a video for dorsals, I don't know about first knuckles. For first knuckle pushups, start in pushup position, fingers forward. Now, as you do the pushup, go up onto the area of the palm where your fingers attach. That's the first knuckle. These are hard, you may want to try them on your knees first. When you can do them with straight elbows on your knees, move on to pushup position. It's helped me a lot! Also, hands backwards back lever work seems to build a lot of strength in the hands backwards planche position. That will help you as well. Anyone else have suggestions?