Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

Leg exercise-- Variations? Bulgarian split squats?Lunges etc

Airness

Hey guys,

I'm new to the gymnastic bodies 'community'. I just started training with bodyweight movements/gymnastic movements recently (whichever term is more fitting in this situation). I'm quite heavy for my height 5'10" (178cm) and 190lbs (86k). I don't really want to train with barbells and want ideas for workouts where I can do in a house or basically anywhere..

I've been trying the pistol one legged squats recently, it somehow hurts my left leg because I was born with my left leg 'aligned' inward, I try to consciously 'push' it outwards. It didn't cause much pain at all when I exercised however it has recently started to bother me when I tried the pistol squats. I'm wondering if there are any substitutes for one legged pistol squats-- bulgarian split squats (I'm fine with using dumbbells), lunges, hill sprints, car pushing (maybe)?

In the meantime I will try to correct my form for the one legged squats because it only hurts my left knee and it is quite frustrating.

Many thanks.

A bulgarian split squat might not be as hard on your knee because it does not go as deep. All those other SLS don't go to depth that SLS typically will go to.

You could try a SLS but instead of cantering the other leg in front of you, just let it hang. You'll have to do these on a box of some height. The other leg will simply hang.

Work partial ROM (graduated) SLS. Focus on just going to just above parallel or do the rock back SLS version.

How's a deck squat on your knee? You can weight these as well or just do the split squats or F/B squats.

A bulgarian split squat might not be as hard on your knee because it does not go as deep. All those other SLS don't go to depth that SLS typically will go to.