Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

Best Way to Train for Planche

Hannibal Ahmed

Hannibal Ahmed

so I'm not quite sure what is the most effective way to train for a planche is (I'm a beginner).  So between static straight-arm work (like pseudo-planches), static bent-arm work to work to a elbow lever first, and just normal progressions (with normal repetitions), which should I do the most of?

Alexander Egebak

The one movement which resembles the planche the most. Pseudo planche pushups will build fundamental lean strength and learn you how to properly protract your scapula properly. When you can do a fine lean (5 x 30s) you should have the neccessary strength to go into frogstand training. Push up progressions should also help your planche progressing a little but those should not be trained at the expense of worse performance in leans and planche progressions.

Coach Sommer

The GB Foundation courses contain the most in depth planche training program in the world.

Yours in Fitness,

Coach Sommer

• Upvote 4

Hannibal Ahmed

I'm focussed on developing my planche skills right now, but I don't want to leave my handstand/handstand pushup work neglected, I'm about to go into a 4 week training block where I have "planche days" and I'm not sure if I should add in days for handstand or normal push work

Farid Mirkhani

Post your entire program if you can. It will be easier to help you. And before anyone else says it, I might as well say it: get f-series and handstand series. :P

Alexander Egebak