Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

Gymnastic with bad lower back

Edoardo Roberto Cagnola

Edoardo Roberto Cagnola

I didn't know where to post this,so... I have a discopathy in my lumbar region (basically it's like an inflammation of the disks - that's what my doc says), that it's caused by bad sitting habits and improper lifting (squatting) technique. I switched to bw training (I just can do the basics) and my back has improved a lot. Is there anybody that is doing F1 with lower back problems?

Marios Roussos

I had a history of major lower back problems from competitive rowing in university (overuse with very poor mobility, posture, and sitting patterns). After a year of haphazard GST, mostly in the form of front lever work, planche progressions and single leg squats, my back pain improved dramatically, but it has never felt as bulletproof as after starting F1. There are many elements in the series that I suspect help dramatically, ones that easily come to mind would be the FL mobility elements, sPL mobility elements, and arch body holds.

• Upvote 1

Edoardo Roberto Cagnola

Thanks MR for the reply! That's exactly what I was hoping to hear :)

I don't own F1 but many of the exercises in F series I am working towards or have achieved.  I have seriously injured my lumbar spine squatting and dead lifting heavy weights over the course of years, and sitting for hours on end...three herniated discs and sacroiliac injuries.  L sits and bridging over the course of a year or two will, contrary to popular belief, actually heal, strengthen and lengthen the vertebral discs, this has been my experience.   All other mobility work is important as well especially the shoulders for complicated reasons.